Navigation again allowed, click here to learn more

The act of francization of a pleasure boat

The maritime equivalent of the grey map of land vehicles, the act of francization is a navigation title like the Traffic card, which is required to navigate the rule. However, this administrative document is mandatory only in certain cases, depending on the type of vessel, hull length and engine power. For which pleasure craft and VNM (Motor vehicles with engine: Jet ski) is it compulsory? How do I get it? In what form is the document presented? Dedicated to boaters and shipwreck professionals, our service advises you and accompanies you in your administrative steps to obtain the act of francization.

What does an act of francisation look like?

Franciser a pleasure boat

The act of francization is an authorization to fly the French flag issued by Customs Services. When the pleasure craft is French, it is subject to French law. Its owner must then apply the regulations in force in France, both at the legislative and tax levels, and pay the annual Law of Francisation and Navigation (DAFN).

The act of francization, valid throughout the life of the ship as long as it beats the French flag, is attached to the boat and its owner. Any change (transfer of ownership, change of administrative position, replacement of engine, modification of hull length ...) must be made to the Customs Office. A new act of francization will then be edited, replacing the previous one.

This administrative document must be in the possession of the browser (owner or lessee) when the vessel is on the water or on land during towing. You must be able to submit it at any time to the screening officer if requested.

Important: in the case of co-ownership of the boat, only one request for an act of francisation must be made, bearing the details and the distribution of the shares of each co-owner.

Which pleasure craft are affected by the act of francization?

Vessels and motorboats with a length of hull of 7 metres or more, and/or having an administrative power (expressed in tax horses) equal to or greater than 22 CV must be francized. Any VNM (Vehicle Nautical to Engine: jet-ski, sea scooter) with a real power greater than 90 kW is also affected by this approach. This applies to new and used vessels, regardless of the age of the vessel.

If your boat does not fit in these criteria (hull length less than 7 metres, lower power ...), you must nevertheless be in possession of a traffic card and have registered your vessel with maritime affairs, the DDTM (Directorate Départementale des Territories et de la Mer).

CAUTION: The customs registration of the French vessel does not excuse the presentation of the act of francization to the DDTM because the document must be validated and stamped. Otherwise you would not be in good standing with the legislation in force. No worries, we take care of the whole approach, including the request, the obtaining of the title and its validation by the maritime administrations.

The conditions required for the francization of a pleasure craft

To francise your new or used pleasure boat, it must have been built in one of the countries of the European Union or its current owner must have paid the taxes and import duties.

The vessel must also have successfully completed all security checks. The CTA (Statement of Conformity) validates the vessel's compliance with its entry into the European market.

Finally, the boat must be at least half:

  • A national (natural person) of a Member State of the EU (France or other) or of a State in agreement with the EEA (European Economic Area), whose principal residence is established in France or having been elected to it.
  • A company (legal entity) whose head office is established in France, in a Member State of the European Union or in an EEA State.

If this is not your case, we propose, if necessary, an election service from home on French territory, allowing us to francise your boat and become your referent to the administrations.

How to modify an act of francization?

You may at any time report an administrative change on the act of francization. This is mandatory. Don't you have time? We propose you the complete management of your administrative procedures in case of:

The Annual Law of Francisation and Navigation (DAFN)

The DAFN is a mandatory annual fee for navigation, applicable to all ships and VNM. It is calculated based on the hull length of the sail or motor vessel and the administrative power (expressed in administrative horses) of the vehicle engine (s). For yachts, a specific tax applies, do not hesitate to contact us to know the amount.

A dilapidated abatement is granted according to the age of the vessel if the engine power is less than 100 administrative CVs). If the amount is less than 76 €, you will be exempt from the payment.

In the first year of purchase, you will be required to prorate the months during which the vessel is in your possession and at the beginning of each subsequent year. An annual notice of payment will be sent directly to you by post at the address indicated at the time of registration.

To calculate the amount of your DAFN (age included), we provide you with a smart calculator.

Go to the calculator

Some special cases for francization

Navigation in International Waters

Navigating in international waters is authorized to French vessels, but only if the design category, safety equipment and diplomas in the possession of the owner or the tenant (licence to sail in international waters) permit.

The act of francization for used boats

If the request for francisation applies to your yacht bought in France or in the EU, you have a period of one month from the signature of the deed of sale to make your request ..

For vessels acquired in other foreign countries outside the EU, a declaration of prior import is necessary to obtain the act of francization. Customs may also require a ship's compliance expertise to justify placing on the European market.

The act of francization for foreign vessels

Francization is an essential step for pleasure craft previously under the foreign flag.

However, it is possible for a European or French national, having elected domicile in France, to keep the previous flag, subject to the payment of a passport fee, strictly identical to the amount of the DAFN.

CAUTION: It is not uncommon to see " beautiful announcements of foreign-flagged vessels (Belgian or Dutch to name but one), boasting the advantage of not paying taxes in France. If the previous owner did not pay the passport fee, then Customs will require you to pay the arrears before proceeding with the new registration.

Engine replacement with lower power

It can happen that a change of engine with a lower power during the transfer of property exempts you from the francization (less than 22 administrative CVs for motorboats 7 meters and more, less than 90 kW for VNM). In this case, you will have to report it, we will ask for the cancellation of your ship in their register, even if the former owner had given you the act of francization.

How does an act of francization occur?

Until 2012, the act of francisation for pleasure was presented in the form of an orange notebook. Since January 1, 2013, the new version of the act is a digital document (1 page in A4 format).

Act of Francization Boat of pleasure old model

On the cover of the notebook are the general information: the francisation number and the boat number, the vessel's original name, the date of the francisation and the place where it was validated, the stamp and the signature of the Customs Office.

Vessel characteristics:

  • Type of boat (yacht, sailing boat, motor boat, VNM ...)
  • Previous ship names
  • Serial and serial number (unique identifier)
  • Manufacturer's name and address
  • Country and year of construction
  • Building Materials
  • Past Pavilion and Import from a Foreign Country
  • Propulsion mode (manual, sail or motor)
  • Distinctive Signs
  • Tonnage and measurements (hull length, tonnage ...).

Engine Characteristics:

  • Engine Brand
  • Engine Type
  • Power of the engine expressed in real CV and administrative CV
  • Type of fuel used (LPG, diesel, gasoline).

Insurance:

  • Company (name and address of insurance company selected)
  • Insurance contract number.

Owner or co-owner information:

  • Name
  • First Name
  • Date and place of birth
  • Nationality
  • Address
  • Occupation.

If the vessel belongs to a legal and non-physical person, the name and address on French territory are requested.

If there are two or more co-owners, an insert is provided to record their contact details (name, first name and address) and the distribution of ownership shares (in %).

Finally, the name of the former owner, if any, must also appear.

New Model Francization Act

Since January 1, 2013, the act of francisation for pleasure craft is a secure digital document presented in this form:

Vessel Identification:

  • Name of vessel
  • Francization number, given by Customs on request
  • Vessel registration number, given by the DDTM (the first two letters correspond to the registration area and are followed by 6 digits and a key letter. If there is a change in ownership AND homeport, only the first two letters will be changed on the transfer of ownership declaration)
  • The name and location of the Customs office through which the vessel was registered.

Vessel characteristics:

  • Type of boat (sailboat, motorboat, yacht, catamaran, jet-ski ...)
  • Model (model name given by constructor)
  • Constructor (if this is an amateur construction, the potential sale date must be shown)
  • Ship modified (yes/no, changes made by individual or not and if yes, date of potential sale)
  • Year of construction of the vessel
  • WIN number (Watercraft Identification Number): vessel hull identification number that replaces the old HIN and CIN numbers
  • Design category: ability of the vessel to meet certain navigation conditions (A for high seas, B for offshore, C for the coastal zone and D for protected waters)
  • Inshell length in metres
  • Shell Width in metres
  • Total number of engines
  • Characteristics of the engine or engines: brand, model, serial number (unique identifier), real power expressed in kW, administrative horse power (CV), fuel used (petrol, diesel, LPG).

Owner data:

  • Name, first name, address of the owner or owners
  • Name, first name, address and distribution of shares (%) co-owners if there are any
  • Name, first name and address of the tenant or tenants if necessary.

An insert is provided to record the place and date of the francisation of the boat, followed by the stamps and signatures of the Prefect of the Department and the Customs Office.

The act of francization of a pleasure boat – bateau-immatriculation

La navigation de nouveau autorisée, cliquez ici pour en savoir plus

L'acte de francisation d'un bateau de plaisance

Equivalent maritime de la carte grise des véhicules terrestres, l’acte de francisation est un titre de navigation comme la carte de circulation, indispensable pour naviguer en règle. Néanmoins, ce document administratif n’est obligatoire que dans certains cas, selon le type de navire, sa longueur de coque et sa puissance moteur. Pour quels bateaux de plaisance et VNM (Véhicules Nautiques à Moteur : Jet ski) est-il obligatoire ? Comment l’obtenir ? Sous quelle forme le document est-il présenté ? Dédié aux plaisanciers et aux professionnels du nautisme, notre service vous conseille et vous accompagne dans vos démarches administratives d’obtention de l’acte de francisation.

À quoi ressemble un acte de francisation ?

Franciser un bateau de plaisance

L’acte de francisation est une autorisation à battre pavillon français délivrée par le Services des Douanes. Lorsque l’embarcation de plaisance est francisée, elle est soumise au droit français. Son propriétaire doit alors appliquer la réglementation en vigueur en France, autant au niveau législatif que fiscal, et s’acquitter du Droit Annuel de Francisation et de Navigation (DAFN).

L’acte de francisation, valable toute la durée de vie du bateau tant qu’il bat pavillon français, est attaché au bateau et à son propriétaire. Tout changement (mutation de propriété, changement de situation administrative, remplacement de moteur, modification de la longueur de coque…) doit être porté à la connaissance du Bureau des Douanes. Un nouvel acte de francisation vous sera alors édité, remplaçant le précédent.

Ce document administratif doit se trouver en possession du navigateur (propriétaire ou locataire) lorsque le bateau est sur l’eau ou en déplacement terrestre durant le remorquage. Vous devez pouvoir le présenter à tout moment à l’agent habilité au contrôle s’il vous le demande.

Important : en cas de copropriété du bateau, une seule demande d’acte de francisation doit être effectuée, portant les coordonnées et la répartition des parts de chaque copropriétaire.

Quelles embarcations de plaisance sont concernées par l’acte de francisation ?

Les voiliers et bateaux à moteur avec une longueur de coque de 7 mètres et plus, et/ou disposant d’une puissance administrative (exprimée en chevaux fiscaux) égale ou supérieure à 22 CV doivent être francisés. Tout VNM (Véhicule Nautique à Moteur : jet-ski, scooter des mers) disposant d’une puissance réelle supérieure à 90 kW est également concerné par cette démarche. Cela s’applique aux bateaux neufs et d’occasion, peu importe l’âge du navire.

Si votre embarcation ne rentre pas dans ces critères (longueur de coque inférieure à 7 mètres, puissance inférieure...), vous devez néanmoins être en possession d’une carte de circulation et avoir immatriculé votre bateau auprès des affaires maritimes, la DDTM (Direction Départementale des Territoires et de la Mer).

ATTENTION : L’enregistrement en douanes du navire francisé ne dispense pas de la présentation de l’acte de francisation à la DDTM car le document doit être validé et tamponné. Autrement vous ne seriez pas en règle avec la législation en vigueur. Pas d’inquiétude, nous prenons en charge la démarche dans son intégralité, comprenant la demande, l’obtention du titre et sa validation par les administrations maritimes.

Les conditions requises pour la francisation d’un navire de plaisance

Pour franciser votre bateau de plaisance neuf ou d’occasion, celui-ci doit avoir été construit dans l’un des pays de l’Union Européenne ou son propriétaire actuel doit s’être acquitté des taxes et droits d’importation.

Le bateau doit également avoir passé avec succès tous les contrôles de sécurité. La DEC (Déclaration Écrite de Conformité) valide la conformité du bateau pour sa mise en service sur le marché européen.

Enfin, l’embarcation doit appartenir au moins à moitié :

  • soit à un ressortissant (personne physique) d’un Etat membre de l’UE (France ou autre) ou d’un État en accord avec l’EEE (Espace Economique Européen), dont la résidence principale est établie en France ou y ayant fait élection de domicile.
  • soit à une société (personne morale) dont le siège social est établi en France, dans un Etat membre de l’Union Européenne ou dans un État de l’EEE.

Si ce n’est pas votre cas, nous proposons le cas échéant un service d’élection de domicile sur le territoire français, nous permettant de franciser votre bateau et de devenir votre référent auprès des administrations.

Comment modifier un acte de francisation ?

Vous pouvez à tout moment signaler une modification administrative sur l’acte de francisation. Cela est obligatoire. Vous manquez de temps ? Nous vous proposons la prise en charge complète de vos démarches administratives en cas de : 

Le Droit Annuel de Francisation et de Navigation (DAFN)

Le DAFN est une taxe annuelle obligatoire pour naviguer, applicable à tous les navires et VNM francisés. Il est calculé en fonction de la longueur de coque du bateau à voile ou à moteur et de la puissance administrative (exprimée en chevaux administratifs) du ou des moteurs embarqués. Pour les yachts, une taxe spécifique s’applique, n’hésitez pas à nous consultez pour en connaître le montant.

Un abattement pour vétusté est accordé selon l’âge du bateau si la puissance du moteur est inférieure à 100 CV administratifs). Si le montant est inférieur à 76€, vous serez exempté du paiement.

Lors de la première année d’achat, vous devrez vous en acquitter au prorata des mois durant lesquels le bateau est en votre possession, puis en début de chaque année suivante. Un avis de paiement annuel vous sera directement envoyé par voie postale à l’adresse indiquée lors de l’enregistrement.

Pour calculer le montant de votre DAFN (vétusté incluse), nous mettons à votre disposition une calculette intelligente.

Accéder à la calculette

Quelques cas particuliers pour la francisation

La navigation en eaux internationales

Naviguer en eaux internationales est autorisé aux navires francisés, mais uniquement si la catégorie de conception, les équipements de sécurité et les diplômes en possession du propriétaire ou du locataire (permis de naviguer en eaux internationales) le permettent.

L’acte de francisation pour les bateaux d’occasion

Si la demande de francisation s’applique à votre bateau de plaisance acheté en France ou dans l’UE, vous avez un délai d’un mois à compter de la signature de l’acte de vente pour effectuer votre demande..

Pour les bateaux acquis dans d’autres pays étrangers hors UE, une déclaration d’importation préalable est nécessaire pour obtenir l’acte de francisation. Les douanes peuvent également exiger une expertise de conformité du navire afin de justifier la mise sur le marché européen.

L’acte de francisation pour les bateaux étrangers

La francisation est une démarche indispensable pour les bateaux de plaisance auparavant sous pavillon étranger.

Cependant il est possible pour un ressortissant européen ou Français, ayant élection de domicile en France, de garder le pavillon précédent, à condition de payer un droit de passeport, strictement identique au montant de la DAFN.

ATTENTION : Il n’est pas rare de voir des “belles annonces” de bateaux battant pavillon étranger (belge ou hollandais pour ne citer qu’eux), vantant l’avantage de ne pas payer de taxes en France. Si le précédent propriétaire n’a pas payé le droit de passeport alors qu'il en était redevable, les Douanes exigeront auprès de vous un paiement des arriérés avant de procéder au nouvel enregistrement.

Le remplacement de moteur avec une puissance inférieure

Il peut arriver qu’un changement de moteur avec une puissance inférieure lors de la mutation de propriété vous exempte de la francisation (moins de 22 CV administratifs pour les bateaux à moteur de 7 mètres et plus, moins de 90 kW pour les VNM). Dans ce cas, vous devrez le signaler, nous demanderons alors la radiation de votre navire dans leur registre, même si l’ancien propriétaire vous avait transmis l’acte de francisation.

Comment se présente un acte de francisation ?

Jusqu’en 2012, l’acte de francisation pour la plaisance se présentait sous la forme d’un carnet orange. Depuis le 1er janvier 2013, la nouvelle version de l’acte est un document numérique (1 page en format A4).

Acte de francisation bateau de plaisance ancien modèle

Sur la couverture du carnet apparaissent les informations générales : le numéro de francisation et le matricule de l’embarcation, le nom d’origine du bateau, la date de francisation et le lieu où elle a été validée, le cachet et la signature du Bureau des Douanes.

Caractéristiques du bateau :

  • Type de bateau (yacht, bateau à voile, bateau à moteur, VNM…)
  • Noms antérieurs du navire
  • Série et numéro de série (identifiant unique)
  • Nom et adresse du constructeur
  • Pays et année de construction
  • Matériaux de construction
  • Pavillon antérieur et importation depuis un pays étranger
  • Mode de propulsion (manuel, à voile ou à moteur)
  • Signes distinctifs
  • Jaugeage et mesures (longueur de coque, tonnage…).

Caractéristiques du moteur :

  • Marque du moteur
  • Type de moteur
  • Puissance du moteur exprimée en CV réels et en CV administratifs
  • Type de carburant utilisé (GPL, diesel, essence).

Assurance :

  • Société (nom et adresse de la compagnie d’assurance choisie)
  • Numéro de contrat d’assurance.

Informations sur le propriétaire ou les copropriétaires :

  • Nom
  • Prénom
  • Date et lieu de naissance
  • Nationalité
  • Adresse
  • Profession.

Si le bateau appartient à une personne morale et non physique, la raison sociale et l’adresse sur le territoire français sont demandées.

S’il y a deux ou plusieurs copropriétaires, un encart est prévu pour inscrire leurs coordonnées (nom, prénom et adresse) et la répartition des parts de propriété (en %).

Enfin, le nom de l’ancien propriétaire, s’il y a lieu, doit également apparaître.

Acte de francisation nouveau modèle

Depuis le 1er janvier 2013, l’acte de francisation pour les bateaux de plaisance est un document numérique sécurisé présenté sous cette forme :

Identification du navire :

  • Nom du navire
  • Numéro de francisation, donné par les Douanes lors de la demande
  • Numéro d’immatriculation du bateau, donné par la DDTM (les deux premières lettres correspondent au quartier d’immatriculation et sont suivies de 6 chiffres et d’une lettre-clé. S’il y a changement de propriétaire ET de port d’attache, seules les deux premières lettres seront modifiées lors de la déclaration de mutation de propriété)
  • Nom et localité du Bureau des Douanes par lequel le bateau a été enregistré.

Caractéristiques du navire :

  • Type de bateau (voilier, bateau à moteur, yacht, catamaran, jet-ski…)
  • Modèle (nom de modèle donné par le constructeur)
  • Constructeur (s’il s’agit d’une construction amateur, la date de mise en vente potentielle doit apparaître)
  • Navire modifié (oui / non, modifications réalisées par un particulier ou non et si oui, date de mise en vente potentielle)
  • Année de construction du bateau
  • Numéro WIN (Watercraft Identification Number) : numéro d’identification de la coque du bateau qui remplace les anciens numéros HIN et CIN
  • Catégorie de conception : aptitude du bateau à affronter certaines conditions de navigation (A pour haute mer, B pour le large, C pour la zone côtière et D pour les eaux protégées)
  • Longueur de coque en mètres
  • Largeur de coque en mètres
  • Nombre total de moteurs
  • Caractéristiques du ou des moteurs : marque, modèle, numéro de série (identifiant unique), puissance réelle exprimée en kW, puissance en chevaux administratifs (CV), carburant utilisé (essence, diesel, GPL).

Données des propriétaire(s) :

  • Nom, prénom, adresse du ou des propriétaires
  • Nom, prénom, adresse et répartition des parts (en %) des copropriétaires s’il y en a
  • Nom, prénom et adresse du ou des locataires s’il y a lieu.

Un encart est prévu pour inscrire le lieu et la date de la francisation du bateau, suivi des cachets et signatures du Préfet du département et du Bureau des Douanes.

L'acte de francisation d'un bateau de plaisance – bateau-immatriculation