Navigation again allowed, click here to learn more

The francization of pleasure boats flying foreign flag

Request my change of flag

Access

Yes. sail under foreign flag This was not the case today, but it was a great deal of privilege and the simplification of administrative procedures for the French. French or foreign navigators with their tax residence in France now have theobligation to submit to French regulations or do francize their boat of pleasure. To accompany you in your steps of repatriation under French flag, we decrypt for you the various procedures and legislation currently in force.

End of privileges for foreign boats: the Act of 2016

More flexible in terms of safety and administrative documents, other European countries such as Belgium and the Netherlands have seduced French boaters for many years to register a boat. To name only them, the belgian flag allows to navigate in the offshore area without a navigation permit, the dutch pavilion allows navigation with reduced and simplified safety equipment...

European nationals could register their boats in the state of their choice and should only be subject to the rules of that flag, regardless of the navigation zone and their country of origin.

In order to encourage the recreational sector, Law 2016-816 for the Blue Economy, issued on 20 June 2016, makes a change for French nationals, as stipulated in Article L. 5241-1-1:

"Whatever their flag, recreational vessels and motor nautical vehicles belonging to natural or legal persons having their principal residence or head office in France, and pleasure ships and motor nautical vehicles enjoyed by those persons, shall be subject, in French territorial waters, to all rules relating to ship's driving titles and arms and armaments equipment and to the rules governing the conduct of vessels and their use of waterways. safety applicable on board pleasure vessels and motor nautical vehicles flying the French flag."

In other words, the privileges to be beaten foreign flag no longer apply to the navigation of French residents in French territorial waters. Moreover, the French tax (DAFN) is now compulsory, regardless of the country of registration of the boat. The acquittal is in the form of passport right. The amount is equal to the DAFN paid by a boater with a French flag vessel.

Finally, it should be noted that to clarify registration registers at European level, Belgium (and other foreign governments) sends notice of deletion to French owners if they do not reside primarily in its territory.

What then to do to sail in good standing in France?

Two solutions are possible to apply the legislation in force in French waters:

  • Keep the foreign flag while applying French regulations : pass and obtain the navigation permit appropriate to the type of navigation desired, equip its boat or VNM (Nautical Vehicle to Engine: Jet Ski) with mandatory safety equipment...
  • Free/register your pleasure craft.

What is francisation?

L’act of francization is an administrative document issued by the Customs Service which authorizes the French flag and involves submitting to French, legislative and fiscal law (acquired VAT and DAFN).

The francisation concerns:

  • sailboats and motorboats with a hull length of at least 7 metres and/or with an administrative power of 22 CV and more
  • VNMs (jet ski, scooter of seas...) with a real power exceeding 90 kW.

The validity of this navigation title is unlimited as long as the boat remains under the French flag.

The procedure of francisation

The repatriation of a pleasure ship under the French flag is a long and possibly tedious administrative process but the specialized advisors of Bateau-Immatriculation.com are there to help you.

The special case of pleasure boats without the obligation to be french

If your boat is less than 7 metres long and/or has an administrative power of less than 22 hp, or if your VNM is equipped with an engine with an actual power of 90 kW or less, then francisation is not mandatory. It is still possible to have it repatriated under the French flag. For this, the procedure is also long and potentially complicated. You can entrust us with your file, we will take care of all these administrative procedures with customs and Maritime Affairs in order to proceed with the registration of the boat and the obtaining of the registration number.

By entrusting us with your file, you will have the assurance of benefiting from our expertise and reduced deadlines. We propose to take charge of the whole procedure: request for delisting in the country of the pavilion, declaration with different organizations in France, obtaining navigation tickets, etc.

The francization of pleasure boats flying foreign flag – bateau-immatriculation

La navigation de nouveau autorisée, cliquez ici pour en savoir plus

La francisation des bateaux de plaisance battant pavillon étranger

Demander mon changement de pavillon

Accéder

Si naviguer sous pavillon étranger représentait de nombreux privilèges et la simplification des démarches administratives pour les Français, ce n’est plus le cas aujourd’hui. Les navigateurs français ou étrangers ayant leur résidence fiscale en France ont désormais l’obligation de se soumettre à la réglementation française ou de faire franciser leur bateau de plaisance. Afin de vous accompagner dans vos démarches de rapatriement sous pavillon français, nous décryptons pour vous les différentes procédures et la législation actuellement en vigueur.

La fin des privilèges pour les bateaux étrangers : la loi de 2016

Plus souples en termes de sécurité et de documents administratifs, les autres pays européens comme la Belgique et les Pays-Bas ont séduit les plaisanciers français pendant de nombreuses années pour immatriculer un bateau. Pour ne citer qu’eux, le pavillon belge permet de naviguer en zone hauturière sans permis de navigation, le pavillon hollandais autorise la navigation avec un équipement de sécurité réduit et simplifié... 

Les ressortissants européens pouvaient immatriculer leur bateau de plaisance dans l'État de leur choix et ne devaient se soumettre qu’à la réglementation de ce pavillon, peu importe la zone de navigation et leur pays d’origine. 

Afin d’encourager le secteur de la plaisance, la loi n°2016-816 pour l’économie bleue parue le 20 juin 2016 fait changer les choses pour les ressortissants français, comme stipulé dans l’article L. 5241-1-1 : 

"Quel que soit leur pavillon, les navires de plaisance et les véhicules nautiques à moteur appartenant à des personnes physiques ou morales ayant leur résidence principale ou leur siège social en France ainsi que les navires de plaisance et les véhicules nautiques à moteur dont ces personnes ont la jouissance sont soumis, dans les eaux territoriales françaises, à l'ensemble des règles relatives aux titres de conduite des navires et au matériel d'armement et de sécurité applicables à bord des navires de plaisance et des véhicules nautiques à moteur battant pavillon français."

Autrement dit, les privilèges à battre pavillon étranger ne s’appliquent plus à la navigation des résidents français dans les eaux territoriales françaises. De plus, la taxe française (DAFN) est désormais obligatoire, peu importe le pays d’immatriculation du bateau. L'acquittement se fait sous forme de droit de passeport. Le montant est égal à la DAFN payée par un plaisancier ayant un bateau battant pavillon français.

Enfin, il faut savoir que pour clarifier les registres d’immatriculation à l’échelle européenne, la Belgique (et d’autres gouvernements étrangers) envoie aux propriétaires français un avis de radiation s’ils ne résident pas principalement sur son territoire.

Que faire alors pour naviguer en règle en France ?

Deux solutions sont possibles pour appliquer la législation en vigueur dans les eaux françaises : 

  • Conserver le pavillon étranger tout en appliquant la réglementation française : passer et obtenir le permis de navigation adéquat au type de navigation souhaité, équiper son bateau ou VNM (Véhicule Nautique à Moteur : Jet Ski) du matériel de sécurité obligatoire…
  • Faire franciser/immatriculer son embarcation de plaisance.

Qu’est-ce que la francisation ?

L’acte de francisation est un document administratif délivré par le Service des Douanes qui autorise à battre pavillon français et implique de se soumettre au droit français, législatif et fiscal (acquittement de la TVA et du DAFN). 

La francisation concerne :

  • les voiliers et les bateaux à moteur avec une longueur de coque d’au moins 7 mètres et/ou qui disposent d’une puissance administrative de 22 CV et plus 
  • les VNM (jet ski, scooter des mers…) avec une puissance réelle supérieure à 90 kW.

La validité de ce titre de navigation est illimitée tant que l’embarcation reste sous pavillon français. 

La procédure de francisation

Le rapatriement d’un navire de plaisance sous pavillon français est une démarche administrative longue et possiblement fastidieuse mais les conseillers spécialisés de Bateau-Immatriculation.com sont là pour vous aider.

Le cas particulier des bateaux de plaisance sans obligation de francisation

Si votre bateau mesure moins de 7 mètres et/ou dispose d’une puissance administrative de moins de 22 CV, ou si votre VNM est équipé d’un moteur d’une puissance réelle inférieure ou égale à 90 kW, la francisation n’est alors pas obligatoire. Il est tout de même possible de le faire rapatrier sous pavillon français. Pour cela, la procédure est également longue et potentiellement compliquée. Vous pouvez nous confier votre dossier, nous prendrons en charge toutes ces démarches administratives auprès des Services des Douanes et des Affaires Maritimes afin de procéder à l’enregistrement du bateau et à l’obtention du numéro d’immatriculation.

En nous confiant votre dossier, vous aurez l’assurance de bénéficier de notre expertise et de délais réduits. Nous proposons de prendre en charge toute la procédure : demande de radiation dans le pays du pavillon, déclaration auprès de différentes organisations en France, obtention des titres de navigation, etc.

La francisation des bateaux de plaisance battant pavillon étranger – bateau-immatriculation